The day I walked 25+ kilometers in 5 hours.

Limitations exist only in our minds.

Challenge yourself.

DO what you never thought of before.

Go out there and so what scares you; whatever you are afraid of.

I am a man who always wants to learn and improve. To be the best, not perfect. Perfection is a myth.

I love walks.

The story I am going to tell you guys now is maybe 2 years older. But it is worthy of being said and listened to. It was the time when I walked more than 25 kilometers in 5 hours. This is how the story goes:

My hometown is Srinagar, Kashmir. It is winter time and I am at my home. Lunch is finished. I have already prayed and now I am bored because I am on my semester holidays. So, apparently, I don’t have a lot to do apart from watching TV, walking, and the internet. Today I should go to my friend’s house. It’s barely a mile away. Dressed up in my winter clothes, I leave my house and start walking towards my friend’s house.

Shikara in Dal Lake.

It is a beautiful weather outside. There is cold but no snow or rain. Only cold, chilling cold. I am wearing my jacket so no need to worry. It’s already past 2 0’clock. I am walking, earphones plugged in, and in my own world. I am finally at my friend’s house and he is not home. Oh crap! What do I do now? I don’t want to go back. I can’t stay there. I leave the premises and start walking. I am just walking. After reaching the point where I decide whether I should go home or walk along the road, I decide to walk.

A place called Dalgate. I set my goal to walk till Dalgate. It is a few miles only. After that, I will retrace the same path back home. Earphones, weather, people and I am walking again. In the cold, I am enjoying this walk by the road, looking at different people, and buildings, and cars, and buses. The shopkeepers are tucked in their shops, wearing pherans (traditional Kashmiri dress), with Kangris inside the pherans for warmth (Kangris are semi-circle clay pots used to keep warm in winters by burning coal inside it). Buses are racing in speeds, cars are honking. But all this doesn’t bother me. I am in my own world.

Now as I am about to reach Dalgate, I remember the Boulevard road, which leads to Makai Point, a place where I can eat street barbecue. Thinking that I have already walked this far, why not a couple miles more? And so I continue on my journey. Now, the Boulevard road is not a common road in Kashmir. Along and opposite the road is the most famous Lake in Kashmir, The Dal Lake. There you have houseboats, shikaras (small boats), Char Chinari (a place in the lake with four chinars), Nehru Place, and a lot more.

From left: Boulevard Road and Dal Lake and Shikara

I am enjoying every part of it while I am walking down the footpath. I see people going past me, cars cruising through the beautiful road. And the best part: I am starting to get tired. I stop and think that maybe I should turn back and return, but my Obsessive Compulsive Disorder kicks in and says to me: “You can’t give up now. I will torture you your whole life. Don’t turn back. Keep moving. I don’t care if your legs are dead at the end of it. Go!” And, of course, I listen to it.

Unfortunately, the Makai point which is supposed to be near from my side, which I thought is, because I never walked that road before, is actually farther from my side. I realize it as I am walking and reaching nowhere. There are no buses that can take me to the other side and I have walked way too much to return back. I keep walking thinking that the other end of this road is near now (which I am wrong again; I realize later!). At last, I reach Makai point. But, I don’t stop. Because my OCD is such a motivator. It tells me that I have walked all this way without stopping, and it would be a crime to stop now.

I keep walking.

I remove the earphones now. My head is aching with all the buzzing that has been going on since I left my house. Now enjoying the sounds of nature I keep walking and walking and walking. Wait. Is that guy following me? Why did he start walking after I crossed him? This is it. Today is my last day to live. Today is the day I will die. Oh God, he is still following. Walk fast. Faster. No. He is not following now. I will live. I will live.

Finally, I reach the other end of the road which opens up in Dargah. When I enter Dargah I realize something. I can’t stop my legs. After walking continuously for more than four hours, my legs are walking on their own. This is amazing. I feel like a robot. The sun’s set. Prayers already started in Mosques. I need to reach home as soon as possible to pray. I am all too tired when I reach home. Not sure how I am going to pray. But I have to.

The family asks me where have I been? I tell them. They don’t believe me. I make sure they do. This is an achievement. I have to brag. The next morning I wake up, you already know, my legs are aching like hell. I can’t walk properly. And this pain stays for three more days.

Would you leave your house with the goal or even the thought in your mind that today you are going to walk 25 kilometers? Some of you, definitely.

That day, I learned an important lesson. Important, yet simple. A human body is only limited by its mind. We create our own limitations. It’s been proven that what we think our limit is, is only the 40% of what we can do — Navy’s 40% rule.

Keep hustling. Keep walking. Use your legs. Embrace nature. Don’t get too comfortable with the technology. Use your mind in a positive and productive way. If you have the time to meet a friend or a relative, go to them. Don’t WhatsApp or Instagram or Facebook or Snapchat or whatever the shit text them.


Thank you for reading. Happy Life people. Keep smiling. It’s contagious. 😄

Leave a Reply

